Zim, India sign six MOUs

Zimbabwe and India have signed six memoranda of understanding (MOU) and action plans in various sectors that are expected to expedite the country’s socio-economic transformation and accelerate the pace of engagement with the Asian nation.

Vice President Kembo Mohadi and his Indian counterpart Mr Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu witnessed the signing of the agreements at a ceremony held at Munhumutapa building today.

India is one of the fastest growing economies in the world and the Asian country is aligning itself to the new vision statement set out by the President Emmerson Mnangagwa.

The visiting Indian vice president who is on a three nation Africa tour, paid a courtesy call on Vice President Mohadi at his Munhumutapa last week.

After a closed door meeting the two vice presidents then attended a signing ceremony of six MOUs understanding between the two countries.

Ambassador Cain Mathema and his Indian counterpart signed an agreement on the reciprocal exemption of visa requirements for holders of diplomatic passports.

The second agreement signed is an action plan on cooperation in information and communication technology (ICT) and was signed by the Acting Minister of foreign affairs cde cain mathema and a representative from the Indian government.

Minister of Youth, Sport, Arts and Recreation Kirsty Coventry and a representative from India signed an MOU concerning cooperation in the field of arts, culture and heritage.

Mines and Mining Development Minister Mr Winston Chitando and his Indian counterpart signed a cooperation agreement in the fields of geology, mining and mineral resources.

Health and Child Care Minister Dr Obediah Moyo and a representative from the Indian government signed an agreement of cooperation in the field of traditional systems of medicine and homeopathy.

About 80 percent of medicines used in Zimbabwe are imported from India through the World Bank, UNICEF and other cooperating partners.

Zimbabwe Broadcasting Corporation Chef Executive Mr Patrick Mavhura and a representative from Prasar Bharat India signed an agreement concerning cooperation and collaboration on broadcasting action plan and cooperation in information and communication technology (ICT).

Prasar Bharati is India’s largest public broadcasting agency and is a statutory autonomous body set up by an act of parliament.

It comprises the Doordarshan Television Network and All Radio Radio, which were earlier media units of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

Minister of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services Cde Monica Mutsvangwa and the Permanent Secretary in the mMinistry Nick Mangwana also witnessed the signing.